Morton Ann Gernsbacher wins Phi Kappa Phi Scholar Award

Morton Ann Gernsbacher has been selected as the 2018-2020 Phi Kappa Phi Scholar for demonstrating the ideals of the Society through her activities and achievements.

The Phi Kappa Phi Scholar is the nation’s oldest and most selective all-discipline collegiate honor society. The Award honors those individuals who demonstrate the ideals of the Society through their activities, achievements, and scholarship. Each award is given once per biennium. First presented in 1974, the Scholar Award recognizes excellence in teaching, research, and public service.

The only other UW-Madison recipient was Verner Suomi in 1986, and another notable (non-UW) recipient was Rita Colwell (former NSF Director) in 1992.