Psychology major Manasa Kalluri named winner of Barry Goldwater Scholarship

Three University of Wisconsin–Madison students have been named 2021 winners of the Barry Goldwater Scholarship, considered the country’s preeminent undergraduate scholarship in the natural sciences, mathematics and engineering.

UW–Madison’s winners are Manasa Kalluri, Qianyun (Lexi) Luo and Gage Siebert. All three are juniors. Each will receive up to $7,500 for their senior year of undergraduate study.

More than 1,250 students were nominated this year from 438 academic institutions; 410 were named Goldwater Scholars.

The scholarship program honors the late Sen. Barry Goldwater and was designed to develop highly qualified scientists, engineers and mathematicians. The scholarships were first awarded in 1989.

UW–Madison’s winners are:

  • Portrait of Manasa Kalluri

    Manasa Kalluri

    Manasa Kalluri, of Madison, Wisconsin, is majoring in neurobiology and psychology, with a certificate in global health. She began her research career as a rising high school junior, spending the subsequent summers leading up to college as an intern in the lab of Dr. Lee Eckhardt in the UW–Madison Department of Medicine, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine, Cellular and Molecular Arrhythmia Research Program. As an undergraduate, Kalluri has continued research in the Eckhardt lab and is primarily responsible for investigating an inherited arrhythmia syndrome using a patient-specific stem cell model. She will be the lead author on a manuscript with clinical collaborators that is currently under preparation. She plans to pursue an M.D./Ph.D. in neuro-oncology.

Read the full article featuring the other winners here